Dr. Mary S. Graham
Dr. Mary S. Graham


Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College president Dr. Mary S. Graham has been selected to receive the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK).

This year, 13 college presidents will be recognized with the award at PTK Catalyst 2020, the PTK’s annual convention, April 2-4 in the Greater Dallas Area in Texas.

These awards are given to college presidents who have shown strong support of student success on their campus by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students at their colleges. Recipients are nominated by students on their campus and are only eligible to receive the award once over the course of their career.

“I am honored to have been nominated by our students and to receive this distinguished award,” said Graham.  “Student success is vitally important to us at Gulf Coast and this award really belongs to our entire college family. Our employees assist and promote students every day on each of our college campuses and centers.  I’m proud to be a part of such an incredible institution.”

The Shirley B. Gordon Award is Phi Theta Kappa’s most prestigious award for community college presidents and is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest-serving Board of Directors Chair and a founder and long-time president of Highline Community College in Washington.

For more information on the award, visit https://www.ptk.org/news/2020/02/05/13-college-presidents-to-receive-shirley-b-gordon-award/.

Share This Article