From left are Kenzley Ladner, Rebecca Courtney, and Brady Alexander.
From left are Kenzley Ladner, Rebecca Courtney, and Brady Alexander.

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College’s School of Visual and Performing Arts will present the production of Disney and Cameron Mackintosh’s “Mary Poppins” March 9-11 at 7 p.m. and March 12 at 2 p.m. in Malone Hall Auditorium on the Perkinston Campus.

“Mary Poppins” is pure magic, and this production will not disappoint its audience. The stage adaptation of “Mary Poppins” is not a replica of the film, but an original musical that honors some of its greatest achievements and most beloved moments. The screenwriters gave P.L. Travers’s fantastic stories a plot: The Bankses need Mary Poppins to nanny their children because they need to learn how to be a family.

The cast includes Rebecca Courtney as Mary Poppins, Cody Breland as Bert, Mikayla Meyer as Winnifred Banks, Dean Belton as George Banks, Kenzley Ladner as Jane Banks, Brady Alexander as Michael Banks, Laurie McIlrath as Mrs. Brill, Cade Cochran as Robertson Ay, Nancy Barrett as Miss Andrew, Grace Ann Courtney as Mrs. Cory, Summer Leady as Miss Lark, Mariah Galloway as Miss Smythe, Rileigh Vandevelde as Katie Nanna, Eric Brady as Admiral Boom, Jack McKay as Park Keeper, Jaycie Tunget as Neleus, Ayden Lizanna as Policeman, Jack McKay as Von Hussler, Nancy Barrett as Bird Woman, Erik Brady as Northbrook, Jack McKay as Bank Chairman, Mariah Galloway as Bank Member, Erik Brady as Bank Member, Carmen Cedallo as Fannie Cory, Laura O’Neal as Annie Corrie, Kyndall Miles as Willow, Charliegh Miles as Bee, Bella Faye Summerville as Bird, and Grace Ann Courtney and Bella Faye Summerville as Statues.

The Chorus includes Charleigh Miles, Kyndall Miles, Cameron Craven, Ainsley Lizana, Kassidy Craven, Cade Cochran, Giara Wilson, Erik Brady, Ayden Lizana, Mariah Galloway, Carmen Cedallo, Laura O’Neal, Julia Soileau, Elechia Miles, Summer Leady, Rileigh Vandevelde, Grace Ann Courtney, Jack McKay, Kortney Woodard, Abigail Woodard, Laurie McIlrath, Vivianne Rogers, Miranda Rogers, Morgan Rogers, Nancy Barrett, and Ky Beard.

The Chimney Sweep Dancers are Alisha Pee, Avery Turner, Olivia Webster, Mackenzie Owen, Samiah Talley, Emma Farve, Madison Malagarie, Sydney Schilling, Maddie Cleveland, Sophia Jones, Isabella Summerville, Olivia Sumrall, Devin Graham, Amelia Green, Caroline Hairston, Amber McCardle, Annelise Blakeney, Bianca Harris-Core, Reagan Levene, August Rivera, and Jaycie Tungett.

The technical crew includes Daisha Walker, director; Aaron Mann, vocal director; Taylor Ritchey Scott, choreographer; Kenny Yocom, set design; Daisha Walker and Kenny Yocom, lighting; Aaron Mann and Alison Post, keyboard; McKenzie Hanna, stage manager; Andrea Ambrose, video projection operator; and Bella Faye Summerville, “Feed the Birds” choreographer.

The Tech Crew includes Chloe Craven, Bonnie Rhodes, Andrea Ambrose, Cade Cochran, Erik Brady, Giara Wilson, Ky Beard, Jack McKay, McKenzie Hanna, Summer Leady, Mariah Galloway, Julia Soileau, Ayden Lizana, and Grace Ann Courtney.

Set Helpers are Leniyah Brown, Chloe Grant, Alexa Buras, Marlenne Hernandez, Ashton Rupert, Laney Harrell, Amelia Green, Devin Graham, De’Aisha Miller, D’Neisha Anderson, Kameron Keys, Anthony Green, Devon Jones, Keyanna Reed Jordan Butler, Ashton Myers, Caydence Carroll, Zoie Boyd, Christian Whatley, Anniela Carracedo, Aidan Lewis, Azeria Dotson, Benicia Gross, Quentarius Ross, and Katherine Williams.

“Mary Poppins” is a musical based on the stories of P.L. Travers and the Walt Disney Film original music and lyrics by Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman.  The book is by Julian Fellowes. New songs and additional music and lyrics by George Stiles and Anthony Drewe.  The production is offered through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI.

Tickets are on sale now.  They are $5 for children and students and $10 for adults. For ticket information, contact (601) 928-6369.

Share This Article