MGCCC All-Mississippi Academic Team (not pictured: Abagail Grimes, Jackson County Campus)Nine Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College students were recently selected to the All-Mississippi Academic Team. In all, 48 Mississippi community and junior college students have been named to the All-Mississippi Academic Team.


MGCCC students are Abigail Eubanks and Allison Finley from the George County Center; Anna Taylor and Rachel Vivian from the Harrison County Campus; Abagail Grimes, Timothy Miller, and Anna Valenzuela from the Jackson County Campus; and Devin Fortenberry and Ja’Mya Jackson from the Perkinston Campus.


The All-Mississippi Academic Team recognizes the scholarly achievements and leadership accomplishments of community and junior college students across the state of Mississippi. Each college is eligible to nominate two students per campus for the Academic Team Competition. From the nominations received, 20 First, Second and Third Team members are selected.


The All-Mississippi Academic Team was recognized at the State Capitol by the Mississippi Legislature and honored at a luncheon. The program is coordinated by The Clarion-Ledger, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges, and the Mississippi State Board for Community and Junior Colleges.


Share This Article