Four students chosen from MGCCC for Coca-Cola Academic Team
Four students from Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College were selected to the 2018 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team.  From left, Téa Burdine of Biloxi, Gold Scholar and Hites Transfer Scholarship recipient; Anastasia Rogers of Ocean Springs, Gold Scholar; Nolan Stringfellow of Gulfport, Silver Scholar; and Aren Watts of Gautier, Silver Scholar

A Prestigious Honor

Four students from Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College were selected to the 2018 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team. More than 2,000 applications for the competition were received this year. Fifty students were named to each category of gold, silver and bronze.

Two MGCCC students, both from the Jackson County Campus, were selected as Gold Scholars and two, one each from the Jefferson Davis and Perkinston campuses, were selected as Silver Scholars.

The Awarded Students

Gold Scholars:

  • Téa Burdine of Biloxi, Jackson County Campus
  • Anastasia Rogers of Ocean Springs, Jackson County Campus

Silver Scholars:

  • Nolan Stringfellow of Gulfport, Jefferson Davis Campus
  • Aren Watts of Gautier, Perkinston Campus

The Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars, and providing nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Each Gold Scholar receives a $1,500 scholarship, Silver Scholar receives a $1,250 scholarship.  All scholars receive a special medallion.

Burdine also received a Hites Transfer Scholarship. Only 10 of these scholarships, worth $7,500 each, are offered each year. This scholarship recognizes outstanding academic achievement and rigor; engagement in college and community activities; and leadership accomplishments of Phi Theta Kappa members preparing to transfer to senior institutions.

Phi Theta Kappa will recognize the 2018 honorees on stage at PTK Catalyst, Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention, April 19-21, in Kansas City, Missouri.

“We thank the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for recognizing these student leaders and for investing in their futures,” said Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner, president and CEO of Phi Theta Kappa.

Scholarships like these are integral to the success of these students in reaching their educational and career goals.

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of community college students and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations. Learn more at

Ready to begin your college journey? Learn more about enrolling at MGCCC.

Share This Article